top of page

Recognition of religion or belief in Mauritius

According to the standards set out in the SRR, conditions for RoRB in the Republic of Mauritius are classified restrictive.

Recognition of religion or belief in Mauritius


  • Existential recognition is bestowed to six religious communities: Hindus, Catholics, Muslims, Anglicans, Presbyterians and Seventh-day Adventists.

  • Recognition and registration are ideally differentiated in Mauritius but the former as existential recognition is bestowed only to the six communities aforementioned; all other groups may only gain a semblance of recognition through registering for tax-exemption.

  • The existence of the rule of mandatory registration violates the Bielefeldt provision even though there are not penalties for unregistration.

  • The involvement of the Prime Minister’s Office in foreign missionary approval is inappropriate as this suggests politicisation of the process.

  • Ongoing tensions between Muslims and Hindus should be resolved through mutual recognition and more sophisticated means of religious education to promote the message of the importance of the diversity of religious belief and practice.

Positive elements:

  • Financial support from the state is provided but only to the six recognised religious communities according to the degree of adherence in the country identified through census.

  • Freedom of religion or belief is generally upheld.


  • Extend procedures for existential recognition to all belief systems, denominations and communities in the country.

  • To become dynamic, Mauritius will need to establish a recognition agency to manage its recognition system.

RoRB Topic
RoRB Compliance
RoRB Classification
Country or territory
bottom of page